What time is it in Brazil?

January 31, 2008 | By More

Finding out what’s the time difference on a given moment between, say, New York and Rio de Janeiro is not that difficult. But to be able to tell the time difference for each region of Brazil throughout the year is no easy job. Brazil has several time zones and, to make matters worse, some regions of the country do not have a summer time – others do.

Instead of trying to make sense out of the different time zones, I’m going to leave here a series of links to Worldtimeserver.com, pages that will show you the exact time at the time of opening the page in all the Brazilian states. You just have to click on “the current time in… is”. In brackets, the capital of the sate:

Acre (Rio Branco)
Alagoas (Maceió)
Amapá (Macapá)
Amazonas (Manaus)
Bahia (Salvador)
Ceará (Fortaleza)
Distrito Federal (Brasilia)
Espirito Santo (Vitoria)
Goias (Goiania)
Maranhão (São Luís)
Mato Grosso (Cuiabá)
Mato Grosso do Sul (Campo Grande)
Minas Gerais (Belo Horizonte)
Paraiba (João Pessoa)
Parana (Curitiba)
Pernambuco (Recife)
Piaui (Teresina)
Rio de Janeiro (Rio de Janeiro)
Rio Grande do Norte (Natal)
Rio Grande do Sul (Porto Alegre)
Rondônia (Porto Velho)
Roraima (Boa Vista)
Santa Catarina (Floriánopolis)
São Paulo (São Paulo)
Sergipe (Aracaju)
Tocantins (Palmas)

The state of Pará has two different time zones, for the eastern and western areas of the state:
Para (Belém)
Para (Santarém)

The island of Fernando de Noronha, in the state of Pernambuco, has its own time zone:
Fernando de Noronha

subscribe to the Brazil Travel Blog by Email
follow the Brazil Travel Blog on Twitter
follow the Brazil Travel Blog on Facebook

Tags: , ,

Category: General, Links

Comments are closed.