daylight savings time

October 17, 2008 | By More

Daylight savings begin at midnight on Saturday 19 for the regions South, South East and Centre-West (they include the states of Rio Grande do Sul, Santa Catarina, Paraná, São Paulo, Rio de Janeiro, Espírito Santo, Minas Gerais, Goiás, Mato Grosso, Mato Grosso do Sul and Distrito Federal). We’ll have to put the clocks forward (by) an hour. Summer time savings end on 15 February 2009.

At what time is it in Brazil? I explained how to find out, real time, what time is it on each and every Brazilian state. Bear in mind that Brazil has several time zones and also be aware that the change does not apply to the Northeast region.

Up until know, the dates for the clock changes were determined on a yearly basis. From now on, the change will occur on the third Sunday of October and on the third Sunday of February (unless it happens to be carnival, in which case daylight savings time will finish on the Sunday after carnival).

Tags: ,

Category: News

Comments are closed.