new 7 natural wonders of the world – the finalists

August 14, 2009 | By More

The list with the 28 finalists for the new 7 wonders of nature has been announced. It includes two candidates with an important Brazilian input: the Iguazu Falls, shared with Argentina and the Amazon jungle, shared with Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Peru, Suriname and Venezuela.

Iguazu falls / cataratas de Iguazú

It is, above all, a marketing drive to enrichen the pockets of the clever Swiss businessman behind the 7 new wonders initiative. All it does is help promote a series of places that, as a rule, are extremely well-known tourist destinations. In a way, it is a relief to know that fantastic Brazilian natural wonders – and widely unknown – like Fernando de Noronha or Lençóis Maranhenses will not suffer as a result of the overexposure caused by the contest.

There is plenty of outstanding nature in Brazil (and elsewhere, amazing and mind-blowing Patagonia is nowhere to be found among the 28 finalists!), do go beyond the 7 Wonders!

10 must-see places in Brazil
top 10 Brazilian beaches – 2009 edition

subscribe to the Brazil Travel Blog by Email
follow the Brazil Travel Blog on Twitter

Tags: , ,

Category: News

Comments are closed.